Compare
Vercro vs Planter
Planter (Percula LLC): a square foot garden layout planner for iPhone, iPad and Android, with a free plan for one garden. Checked against its own pages on 17 September 2026.
The short version
Vercro
Stays with your garden as it changes.
- Knows what’s growing in each bed and the feeds you own, and each morning picks the few jobs that matter, each with a reason.
- Turns a problem spotted by Plant Check or Ask Vercro into jobs, once you confirm.
- Keeps the record of what you sowed, did and picked, and uses it when you plan: crop rotation checked against each bed’s history, companion planting suggestions and repeat sowings.
Free for up to 3 gardens or allotments, with unlimited crops, beds and seasons. Free includes 25 Ask Vercro questions and 5 Plant Checks a month. Pro includes 300 questions and 30 Plant Checks a month.
Planter
Built for: laying out square foot beds on your phone, with companion indicators as you place plants and a planting calendar timed from your frost dates. One garden is free.
Free plan: Free plan for 1 garden with a growing calendar, custom plants and a seed box.
Paid for: Unlimited gardens, tasks and notifications, notes and events, no ads, custom backgrounds and the web app. In the UK, Premium is bought in the app.
Side by side
| Feature | Vercro | Planter |
|---|---|---|
| Ongoing free plan | Yes, free (not a trial)Vercro Free has no time limit and needs no card. | Yes, 1 gardenFree plan for 1 garden with a growing calendar, custom plants and a seed box. |
| Free trial | No trialThere is a free plan instead of a trial. | Not statedNot mentioned on the pages we checked. |
| Paid plan price (UK) | Pro £4.99 a month or £39 a yearPro prices on the web app at app.vercro.com, VAT included. Existing subscribers keep the price they signed up at.The Vercro iPhone app (version 2.0.2) lists different in-app purchase prices (£2.99 to £59.00) on the UK App Store as of 15 Sep 2026. | £24.99 a yearPremium Annual on the UK App Store. A £19.99 discounted annual and older legacy prices are also listed.On planter.garden Premium is $24.99 a year and Lifetime is $99.99. |
| Guidance for your own plants | Yes, freeToday shows the few jobs that matter for your own crops and beds, and why, using your local forecast. Up to five on most days; finish them and it says you're done for today. | Calendar free; tasks paidA free planting calendar for starting seeds, transplanting and harvesting. Tasks with notifications on your phone, including frost notices ahead of your frost dates, are a Premium feature. |
| Garden planning | Yes, freeA Garden plan for every location you have, now, this autumn and next spring, with measured beds drawn to scale. In the web app. | Yes, square foot gridSquare foot gardening layout grid. 1 garden free, unlimited with Premium. |
| Growing record | Yes, freeRecord keeps what you sowed, did and picked, bed by bed. Log harvests by weight or count. | Notes and events (Premium)Notes and events, including harvest amounts, are a Premium feature. |
| Ask AI gardening questions | 25 a month free25 Ask Vercro questions a month on Free, 300 a month with Pro. | Not mentionedAn AI assistant is not mentioned. The only AI mentioned is icon generation for custom plants (Premium). |
| Photo plant checks | 5 a month free5 Plant Checks (photo assessment) a month on Free, 30 a month with Pro. | Not mentionedNot mentioned on the pages we checked. |
| Weather or frost dates | Yes, freeYour postcode's forecast shapes the jobs Vercro shows you. | Frost dates from your locationFrost dates are set from your location or entered by hand, and the planting calendar uses them. |
| Gardens, plans or places | 3 freeUp to 3 locations on Free, unlimited with Pro. Unlimited crops and beds on both. | 1 garden freeUnlimited gardens with Premium. |
| UK focus | Built for UK growersUK sowing calendars and UK postcodes. Ireland is also supported. | US-basedPercula LLC. Website prices are in US dollars. |
| What needs a subscription | More locations and AI allowancePro adds unlimited locations, 300 Ask Vercro questions and 30 Plant Checks a month. | More gardens, tasks, notesUnlimited gardens, tasks and notifications, notes and events, no ads, custom backgrounds and the web app. In the UK, Premium is bought in the app. |
Sources and dates
Sources and dates (9)
Every competitor value was re-read on its primary source (the vendor's own page or its UK App Store listing at apps.apple.com/gb) on the date shown. Where a source did not mention a feature we say 'Not stated' or 'Not mentioned on the pages we checked' rather than 'No'. Nothing was signed up for or bought.
Prices are as listed on the date checked, in pounds where a UK source showed them. App Store prices can differ from website prices, can vary by country, and vendors run discounts and price tests.
Vercro values describe the plans from the September 2026 relaunch. They depend on that release being live.
- Vercro plans from the relaunch (Model D) entitlement contract, 15 Sep 2026Checked 15 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- Vercro, UK App Store listingChecked 15 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter home page and pricing, planter.gardenChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 10 entries
- Planter, UK App Store listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 5 entries
- Planter docs: task notificationsChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: notes and eventsChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter release notesChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: frost datesChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: subscribingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
See all nine apps together on the comparison page, or compare with RHS Grow, GrowVeg, Growli, Seedtime, VegPlotter, Leaftide or Gardenize.
Let Vercro keep up with your garden
Tell it what’s growing where. Tomorrow morning, Today will have looked at your beds.
Free. Not a free trial. No card required.