Compare gardening apps
Vercro and other gardening apps, compared
There are good apps for drawing a plot, looking up a plant or keeping a journal. Vercro is built for the part that comes after: keeping up with a real garden, from today's jobs to what goes in next.
How Vercro is different
It stays with your garden as it changes
You don’t have to build a detailed plan and keep it up to date yourself. Tell Vercro what’s growing where, and it keeps up with you: planning, growing, dealing with problems, picking and planning again, in one place, each step feeding the next.
It knows what’s where
Each garden, bed and crop, roughly how far along each crop is from when you sowed it, and the feeds you own.
It picks today’s few jobs
Each morning, a short list of jobs for your own beds, checked against your local forecast, each with a reason. Feeding jobs use the feeds you own. Finish the list and it tells you you’re done.
It turns problems into jobs
Spot something wrong? Plant Check or Ask Vercro can add the next steps to your jobs and note the problem on that crop, once you confirm.
It keeps up when you don’t
Missed jobs don’t pile up as overdue, and when it matters it asks a quick question, such as whether a crop has gone out yet.
It carries harvest into what’s next
Log what you pick. When a bed has room, see what could go in next, with companion planting suggestions for what’s already there and repeat sowings every few weeks.
It remembers, and plans with it
Your Record keeps what you sowed, did and picked, bed by bed. When you plan what goes in a bed, it checks what has grown there, and if the same plant family has, it can point you to a free bed where it hasn’t.
Rotation that moves with your beds
Crops start and finish at different times, so Vercro checks rotation whenever a bed has room: what has grown there, what grows well alongside what's there now, and a free bed where that plant family hasn't grown, rather than a fixed chart drawn up once a year.
Ask Vercro answers questions about your own garden, and Plant Check assesses a struggling crop from a photo. Free includes 25 Ask Vercro questions and 5 Plant Checks a month. Pro includes 300 questions and 30 Plant Checks a month.
What other gardening apps are built for
Each of these 8 apps is built around a particular job, and some go further than Vercro at that job. If you want help with the whole growing year, from sowing to picking to what comes next, that's what Vercro is for.
- Compare
RHS Grow
Free plan: Yes
The RHS plant database and expert UK advice for the whole garden, from flowers and houseplants to veg, with plant identification in the free version.
- Compare
GrowVeg Garden Planner
Free plan: No, trial then paid
Drawing a detailed garden plan yourself in a web browser, with rotation warnings carried from your earlier plans and evidence-based companion planting. Paid after a trial.
- Compare
Growli
Free plan: Yes
A chat-led companion for iPhone and Android that turns what you grow into daily tasks timed to local weather, with photo identification and diagnosis on its paid plan.
- Compare
Seedtime
Free plan: Yes
Turning your frost dates into a week-by-week sowing, transplanting and harvest calendar, with a task list built from that plan and a layout you edit on the web.
- Compare
Planter
Free plan: Yes, 1 garden
Laying out square foot beds on your phone, with companion indicators as you place plants and a planting calendar timed from your frost dates. One garden is free.
- Compare
VegPlotter
Free plan: Yes, limited plantings
Drawing vegetable and allotment plots to scale in rows or square feet, planned month by month, with rotation warnings and companion suggestions on a free plan with a limit on plantings.
- Compare
Leaftide
Free plan: Yes, up to 30 plants
Following individual plants, down to the variety, year after year, giving fruit trees, soft fruit and perennials the same care history as vegetables, with a plot designer and a harvest tracker.
- Compare
Gardenize
Free plan: Yes
Keeping a journal of a whole garden: plants catalogued by area and dated events with notes, with unlimited plants, areas and events on the free plan.
Where Vercro isn't the tool
- It doesn’t draw free-form plans. Beds you’ve measured are drawn to scale as rectangles.
- It doesn’t identify unknown plants. Plant Check looks at a crop you’ve already added.
- The newest screens are in the web app. The iPhone and Android apps get them in their next update.
Not included: From Seed to Spoon. No UK App Store listing: its UK App Store address returned 404 when checked. Apps built around a hardware growing kit are left out because they need the device.
Side by side: free plans, prices and features
Tap an app's name for a closer look at Vercro and that app, with the detail behind each entry.
Scroll sideways to see every app.
| Feature | Vercro | RHS Grow | GrowVeg | Growli | Seedtime | Planter | VegPlotter | Leaftide | Gardenize |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ongoing free plan | Yes, free (not a trial) | Yes | No, trial then paid | Yes | Yes | Yes, 1 garden | Yes, limited plantings | Yes, up to 30 plants | Yes |
| Free trial | No trial | Yes, length not stated | 7 days, no payment details | 7 days on the yearly plan | 7 days on paid plans | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 14 days |
| Paid plan price (UK) | Pro £4.99 a month or £39 a year | From £3.99 to £39.99 | £25 a year | £6.99 a month or £34.99 a year | £9.99 a month or £79.99 a year | £24.99 a year | From £18 a year | £5 a month or £45 a year | £6.49 a month or £31.99 a year |
| Guidance for your own plants | Yes, free | Care reminders (paid) | Email sowing reminders | Yes, free | Tasks from your plan | Calendar free; tasks paid | Monthly jobs, free | Care reminders, free | Care reminders |
| Garden planning | Yes, free | Garden Planner | Yes, the core product | Growing plan, free | 1 layout free | Yes, square foot grid | Yes, free | Plot designer, free | Calendar planner, free |
| Growing record | Yes, free | Garden journal (paid) | Garden Journal | Not stated | Journal free | Notes and events (Premium) | Notes and photos (paid) | Care history and harvests | Yes, garden journal |
| Ask AI gardening questions | 25 a month free | ChatBotanist (paid) | Not mentioned | Chat free, unlimited with Plus | Sprout Bot; 10 AI credits a month free | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | AI care notes |
| Photo plant checks | 5 a month free | Plant ID in the free version | Not mentioned | ID and diagnosis (Plus) | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Plant ID (Plus) |
| Weather or frost dates | Yes, free | Not stated | Yes | Yes, free | Frost dates; forecast paid | Frost dates from your location | Local climate schedules | Local frost dates | Hardiness zone advice |
| Gardens, plans or places | 3 free | Not stated | Up to 5 plans a year | Not stated | 1 calendar and layout free | 1 garden free | Unlimited plans | Not stated | Unlimited areas free |
| UK focus | Built for UK growers | UK only | UK site in £ | Designed for UK growers | US-based | US-based | Not stated | Built in the UK, prices in £ | Sweden-based |
| What needs a subscription | More locations and AI allowance | Reminders, AI, journal | Everything after the trial | ID, diagnosis, unlimited chat | Weather, more AI, records | More gardens, tasks, notes | More plantings, jobs, notes | More than 30 plants | Plant ID, desktop, export |
Checked on 17 September 2026; GrowVeg, VegPlotter, RHS Grow and Growli re-checked on 19 September 2026. Prices are as listed that day and can differ between the App Store, Google Play and the web, by country, and during promotions. Where an app doesn't mention something, we say so rather than guess. Sources and dates.
What about ChatGPT or Gemini?
General AI assistants can answer one-off gardening questions, and several have free plans. Vercro is built around the record of your own garden: your beds, your crops and when you sowed them.
- Google Gemini: Free plan at £0 a month with a Google Account; paid plans from £4.49 a month (Google AI Plus).
- ChatGPT: Free to download on the UK App Store, with in-app purchases from £6.99 (ChatGPT Go) to £200.00.
Sources and dates
Sources and dates (37)
Every competitor value was re-read on its primary source (the vendor's own page or its UK App Store listing at apps.apple.com/gb) on the date shown. Where a source did not mention a feature we say 'Not stated' or 'Not mentioned on the pages we checked' rather than 'No'. Nothing was signed up for or bought.
Prices are as listed on the date checked, in pounds where a UK source showed them. App Store prices can differ from website prices, can vary by country, and vendors run discounts and price tests.
Vercro values describe the plans from the September 2026 relaunch. They depend on that release being live.
- Vercro plans from the relaunch (Model D) entitlement contract, 15 Sep 2026Checked 15 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- Vercro, UK App Store listingChecked 15 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- RHS Grow page, rhs.org.ukChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- RHS Grow, UK App Store listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 3 entries
- GrowVeg subscription information, growveg.co.ukChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 9 entries
- GrowVeg Garden Planner introduction, growveg.co.ukChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 6 entries
- GrowVeg help: setting up crop rotation in the Garden PlannerChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- GrowVeg home page, growveg.co.ukChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Growli, UK App Store listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 6 entries
- Growli pricing page, getgrowli.appChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 10 entries
- Growli websiteChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 2 entries
- Growli: how it worksChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Growli, Google Play listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Growli FAQChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Seedtime pricing page, seedtime.usChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- Seedtime, UK App Store listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 5 entries
- Seedtime homepageChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter home page and pricing, planter.gardenChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 10 entries
- Planter, UK App Store listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 5 entries
- Planter docs: task notificationsChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: notes and eventsChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter release notesChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: frost datesChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Planter docs: subscribingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- VegPlotter pricing page, vegplotter.comChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- VegPlotter (Vegetable Garden/Farm Planner), UK App Store listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 3 entries
- VegPlotter, Google Play listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 2 entries
- Leaftide pricing page, leaftide.comChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 7 entries
- Leaftide, UK App Store listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 7 entries
- Leaftide homepage and FAQChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 4 entries
- Gardenize plans page, gardenize.comChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 9 entries
- Gardenize, UK App Store listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 9 entries
- Gardenize, Google Play listingChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Gardenize FAQChecked 17 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- Google Gemini plans page, gemini.googleChecked 15 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- ChatGPT, UK App Store listingChecked 15 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- From Seed to Spoon: UK App StoreChecked 15 September 2026
Let Vercro keep up with your garden
Tell it what’s growing where. Tomorrow morning, Today will have looked at your beds.
Free. Not a free trial. No card required.
