Compare
Vercro vs RHS Grow
RHS Grow (The Royal Horticultural Society): the Royal Horticultural Society's plant and garden app. It has a free version; its AI chatbot and garden journal are paid. Checked against its own pages on 19 September 2026.
The short version
Vercro
Stays with your garden as it changes.
- Knows what’s growing in each bed and the feeds you own, and each morning picks the few jobs that matter, each with a reason.
- Turns a problem spotted by Plant Check or Ask Vercro into jobs, once you confirm.
- Keeps the record of what you sowed, did and picked, and uses it when you plan: crop rotation checked against each bed’s history, companion planting suggestions and repeat sowings.
Free for up to 3 gardens or allotments, with unlimited crops, beds and seasons. Free includes 25 Ask Vercro questions and 5 Plant Checks a month. Pro includes 300 questions and 30 Plant Checks a month.
RHS Grow
Built for: the RHS plant database and expert UK advice for the whole garden, from flowers and houseplants to veg, with plant identification in the free version.
Free plan: Free version includes the RHS plant database (35,000+ plants), expert articles, plant collections and wishlists, and plant identification.
Paid for: Care reminders, ChatBotanist, the garden journal and the plant combination builder. Separate from RHS membership.
Side by side
| Feature | Vercro | RHS Grow |
|---|---|---|
| Ongoing free plan | Yes, free (not a trial)Vercro Free has no time limit and needs no card. | YesFree version includes the RHS plant database (35,000+ plants), expert articles, plant collections and wishlists, and plant identification. |
| Free trial | No trialThere is a free plan instead of a trial. | Yes, length not statedRHS says it offers all users a free trial period. |
| Paid plan price (UK) | Pro £4.99 a month or £39 a yearPro prices on the web app at app.vercro.com, VAT included. Existing subscribers keep the price they signed up at.The Vercro iPhone app (version 2.0.2) lists different in-app purchase prices (£2.99 to £59.00) on the UK App Store as of 15 Sep 2026. | From £3.99 to £39.99The RHS offers monthly and yearly subscriptions. The UK App Store lists in-app purchases from £3.99 to £39.99 but does not show which is monthly or yearly.Several different price points are listed at once in the App Store, so the price you are offered may differ. |
| Guidance for your own plants | Yes, freeToday shows the few jobs that matter for your own crops and beds, and why, using your local forecast. Up to five on most days; finish them and it says you're done for today. | Care reminders (paid)Personalised care reminders are a subscription feature. |
| Garden planning | Yes, freeA Garden plan for every location you have, now, this autumn and next spring, with measured beds drawn to scale. In the web app. | Garden PlannerComplete a short questionnaire and receive tailored plant recommendations. The page does not say whether this is free or paid. |
| Growing record | Yes, freeRecord keeps what you sowed, did and picked, bed by bed. Log harvests by weight or count. | Garden journal (paid)The garden journal is a subscription feature. |
| Ask AI gardening questions | 25 a month free25 Ask Vercro questions a month on Free, 300 a month with Pro. | ChatBotanist (paid)ChatBotanist, the AI assistant built by RHS advisors, is a subscription feature. |
| Photo plant checks | 5 a month free5 Plant Checks (photo assessment) a month on Free, 30 a month with Pro. | Plant ID in the free versionPlant identification is in the free version (a March 2026 app update mentions free tries). The RHS also lists diagnosing plant problems, without saying which plan includes it. |
| Weather or frost dates | Yes, freeYour postcode's forecast shapes the jobs Vercro shows you. | Not statedThe RHS Grow page describes the app as built for British weather, seasons and soils. A local weather or frost-date feature is not described. |
| Gardens, plans or places | 3 freeUp to 3 locations on Free, unlimited with Pro. Unlimited crops and beds on both. | Not statedNot mentioned on the pages we checked. |
| UK focus | Built for UK growersUK sowing calendars and UK postcodes. Ireland is also supported. | UK onlyThe RHS says the app is only available within the UK. |
| What needs a subscription | More locations and AI allowancePro adds unlimited locations, 300 Ask Vercro questions and 30 Plant Checks a month. | Reminders, AI, journalCare reminders, ChatBotanist, the garden journal and the plant combination builder. Separate from RHS membership. |
Sources and dates
Sources and dates (4)
Every competitor value was re-read on its primary source (the vendor's own page or its UK App Store listing at apps.apple.com/gb) on the date shown. Where a source did not mention a feature we say 'Not stated' or 'Not mentioned on the pages we checked' rather than 'No'. Nothing was signed up for or bought.
Prices are as listed on the date checked, in pounds where a UK source showed them. App Store prices can differ from website prices, can vary by country, and vendors run discounts and price tests.
Vercro values describe the plans from the September 2026 relaunch. They depend on that release being live.
- Vercro plans from the relaunch (Model D) entitlement contract, 15 Sep 2026Checked 15 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- Vercro, UK App Store listingChecked 15 September 2026 · supports 1 entry
- RHS Grow page, rhs.org.ukChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 12 entries
- RHS Grow, UK App Store listingChecked 19 September 2026 · supports 3 entries
See all nine apps together on the comparison page, or compare with GrowVeg, Growli, Seedtime, Planter, VegPlotter, Leaftide or Gardenize.
Let Vercro keep up with your garden
Tell it what’s growing where. Tomorrow morning, Today will have looked at your beds.
Free. Not a free trial. No card required.