Vercro

Compare

Vercro vs VegPlotter

VegPlotter (VegPlotter Ltd): a vegetable garden and allotment planner with a free plan, rotation warnings and companion suggestions. Checked against its own pages on 19 September 2026.

The short version

Vercro

Stays with your garden as it changes.

  • Knows what’s growing in each bed and the feeds you own, and each morning picks the few jobs that matter, each with a reason.
  • Turns a problem spotted by Plant Check or Ask Vercro into jobs, once you confirm.
  • Keeps the record of what you sowed, did and picked, and uses it when you plan: crop rotation checked against each bed’s history, companion planting suggestions and repeat sowings.

Free for up to 3 gardens or allotments, with unlimited crops, beds and seasons. Free includes 25 Ask Vercro questions and 5 Plant Checks a month. Pro includes 300 questions and 30 Plant Checks a month.

Start growing for freeFree. Not a free trial. No card required.

VegPlotter

Built for: drawing vegetable and allotment plots to scale in rows or square feet, planned month by month, with rotation warnings and companion suggestions on a free plan with a limit on plantings.

Free plan: Unlimited garden plans on Free, with a limit on plantings each planning year.

Paid for: Essentials: unlimited plantings, job tracking, notes and photos. Advanced: custom plants and sharing a plan.

Side by side

Vercro and VegPlotter, checked on 17 September 2026.
FeatureVercroVegPlotter
Ongoing free planYes, free (not a trial)Vercro Free has no time limit and needs no card.Yes, limited plantingsUnlimited garden plans on Free, with a limit on plantings each planning year.The UK App Store and Google Play listings and the homepage say 20 plantings a year. The pricing page shows 40; a line with 20 is present in its code but hidden (checked 19 Sep 2026).
Free trialNo trialThere is a free plan instead of a trial.Not statedNot mentioned on the pages we checked.
Paid plan price (UK)Pro £4.99 a month or £39 a yearPro prices on the web app at app.vercro.com, VAT included. Existing subscribers keep the price they signed up at.The Vercro iPhone app (version 2.0.2) lists different in-app purchase prices (£2.99 to £59.00) on the UK App Store as of 15 Sep 2026.From £18 a yearEssentials £18 a year (or £3.50 a month billed monthly); Advanced £30 a year (or £6 a month). Free plan at £0.Prices from vegplotter.com with pounds selected. In-app store prices were not shown on the UK App Store listing.
Guidance for your own plantsYes, freeToday shows the few jobs that matter for your own crops and beds, and why, using your local forecast. Up to five on most days; finish them and it says you're done for today.Monthly jobs, freeTailored monthly garden jobs on Free. Ticking jobs off is an Essentials feature.
Garden planningYes, freeA Garden plan for every location you have, now, this autumn and next spring, with measured beds drawn to scale. In the web app.Yes, freeUnlimited plans drawn to scale, row or square foot layouts, month-by-month planning, crop rotation warnings and companion planting suggestions. Its UK App Store and Google Play listings also name succession planning among the free features.
Growing recordYes, freeRecord keeps what you sowed, did and picked, bed by bed. Log harvests by weight or count.Notes and photos (paid)Unlimited notes and photos come with Essentials.
Ask AI gardening questions25 a month free25 Ask Vercro questions a month on Free, 300 a month with Pro.Not mentionedNot mentioned on the pages we checked.
Photo plant checks5 a month free5 Plant Checks (photo assessment) a month on Free, 30 a month with Pro.Not mentionedNot mentioned on the pages we checked.
Weather or frost datesYes, freeYour postcode's forecast shapes the jobs Vercro shows you.Local climate schedulesPlanting schedules tailored to your local climate, on Free. Its Google Play listing says planting calendars and job lists follow your local frost dates.
Gardens, plans or places3 freeUp to 3 locations on Free, unlimited with Pro. Unlimited crops and beds on both.Unlimited plansUnlimited garden plans on Free.
UK focusBuilt for UK growersUK sowing calendars and UK postcodes. Ireland is also supported.Not statedNot stated on the pages we checked.
What needs a subscriptionMore locations and AI allowancePro adds unlimited locations, 300 Ask Vercro questions and 30 Plant Checks a month.More plantings, jobs, notesEssentials: unlimited plantings, job tracking, notes and photos. Advanced: custom plants and sharing a plan.

Sources and dates

Sources and dates (5)

Every competitor value was re-read on its primary source (the vendor's own page or its UK App Store listing at apps.apple.com/gb) on the date shown. Where a source did not mention a feature we say 'Not stated' or 'Not mentioned on the pages we checked' rather than 'No'. Nothing was signed up for or bought.

Prices are as listed on the date checked, in pounds where a UK source showed them. App Store prices can differ from website prices, can vary by country, and vendors run discounts and price tests.

Vercro values describe the plans from the September 2026 relaunch. They depend on that release being live.

See all nine apps together on the comparison page, or compare with RHS Grow, GrowVeg, Growli, Seedtime, Planter, Leaftide or Gardenize.

Let Vercro keep up with your garden

Tell it what’s growing where. Tomorrow morning, Today will have looked at your beds.

Free. Not a free trial. No card required.

Start growing for free

Try the free tools first